Tuesday, April 15, 2008

say "fromage"!

Springtime in Paris=more picnics:
Photobucket

Monday, April 14, 2008

teaching bluegrass to the french

Last night at Dinner, Pauline started talking about something she saw that she thought was really neat. As she was describing it, I realized that she had seen someone playing the spoons! (Like how they do a lot in bluegrass music). And she got a little confused and was like, "They had a fork and a spoon... or was it two spoons?" and I was like, "Oh yeah, you take two spoons and put them back to back..."
So she got all excited that I knew what she was talking about, and was like, "Wow, you've seen this done before?? Do you know how to do it??" So Raymond (host-dad) got excited too, and he got out a bunch of spoons so that I could show them... and it was really funny, because they'd never seen anyone play the spoons before, and they were all sitting around the table trying to make these rhythms.. it was like my Recreational Music class all over again..
And that's the night I taught the Maillard family how to play the spoons. I wish I could play the spoons better.. or that I had a set of those cheater spoons (ok, not really cheating, but they make spoons that are already attached so that you don't have to worry so much about how you hold them.)
Photobucket

Sunday, April 6, 2008

paris marathon

This morning I got up early to watch the Paris Marathon. I met Rujuta downstairs at about 7:45 and we went to the metro- but when it came it was PACKED, mostly with runners, and the people on board were saying, "pas de place!" (no room!). I've managed to squeeze onto some pretty crowded metros before, but even I could see it would be practically impossible for Ruju and I to fit. So we decided to walk.

Um. I should take more early sunday morning walks. Because Paris is really wonderful that time of day. Practically no cars, the sun was out, it was cold but tolerable, and really peaceful.

So we got to the Champs-Elysees, which was packed... I think someone said around 10,000 people participate? That seems like a lot, but when it started (8:45) the Champs-Elysees had people running by us for several minutes... we watched for a few minutes, then managed to find the other Sweet Briar was there, talked to them while people were still taking off from the Arc de Triomphe, and then Matt, Annie, Clare, and Marisa decided to join in for a bit. So they took off, and people were still running by, and Molly, Rujuta and I decided to go down to the Louvre and wait there for the runners to return from Bois de Vincennes.
It took us about an hour to get to Place de la Concorde because of all the people and blocked off areas, and then we had to wait a long time for the first group of runners to come by (we calculated that in miles it was about 17.5). Once the leaders (a huge group of Kenyans- go figure) ran by, we realized that we were freezing cold. It was about 10:30 at this point, so we decided to go home and warm up.
Overall though, I thought it was really neat to see, and worth getting up for. I don't think my description is very good though...

Map:
Photobucket
Sorry if it's hard to see, I just took it from the marathon website to give you an idea of the route.

Tuesday, April 1, 2008

Provence: on y danse!

Saturday morning I got up at freaking 5:15am so that I could shower and leave for the train station by 6. We didn't have to be there until 6:45, but my host-mom had said I should leave at 6, so Rujuta and I were 15 minutes early. Wahooo.
So we had a fun 3-hour train ride where we got to see a lot of French country side and experience the TVG.

The first stop for our adventures was Arles. It was sunny and really warm!!
Arles was a Roman city, and we saw the ruins for the old Amphitheatre and Theater. It was so neat. I think ruins are so cool, I dunno why. After the ruins we had some free time, so I went to the market with Jessica, Willa, and Sarah J. It was torture to go before lunch, because there was so much food and so many spices, and it all smelled delightful. We all got a few provence gifts for people, along the lines of lavender and kitchen-y stuff. :)
Lunch was provided by Sweet Briar, we went to a restaurant and they served us chicken with vegetables. Then more free-time, which meant more walking around in the now hot sunshine and more shopping. And sitting outside with ice cream people watching. And we saw the old church.

After Arles was Pont du Gard, which is an old roman aqueduct. And since it was over a river, there were people outside swimming! A few people waded in the water, one person accidentally got her jeans soaked, and another person swam.

That night we got to stay in an Abbey, l'Abbaye Saint-Michel de Frigolet, which was SWEET. It was up in the hills and there was nothing really nearby. There were hiking paths though, so Jess and I went on a hike before dinner, and it was GORGEOUS. We got to the top of this one hill, and we were talking kind of loudly, when I was like, "Hey.. listen!" So we did. And it was silent. Like, you could faintly hear a bird chirp, or an insect once in a while but otherwise... just quiet. So we just stood there listening to the nothingness and watching the sun go down, and it was amazing. And it reminded me just how noisy my life really is. Jeez.

At dinner we had pasta and gross wine, and we learned french drinking songs. Haha. It got a little obnoxious after awhile though. After dinner, Willa, Sarah J., Jess and I played egyptian rat screw and stayed up late. Aaaaand that night was the time change.

The next day we had an early breakfast of croissants, yogurt, and hot drinks. Then we departed for Les Baux, which is my new favorite location in France. Seriously, I thought it was sooo gorgeous. It was really windy, and up in the sort-of mountains, so it was really rocky. But the village of Les Baux was about half-way up the mountain, and it was so neat! And we got to see some 11th century ruins. But seriously, that town/area of Provence was my favorite.

Our last location was Avignon, which I didn't find as exciting as Les Baux, even though it was soooooo much bigger (it was actually a city, not a little village). We saw the Palais des Papes (Popes), and the PONT D'AVIGNON! So of course there was a dance party. Yesss. We (Willa, Jess, Sarah and I) got a little lost finding the bridge though, so we didn't have a lot of time for our dance party and had to RUN back to the bus haha. Then our lightning-fast trip to Provence was pretty much over and we went to the train.

The train ride back was really fun. And it was neat watching the weather get worse and worse until we were in Paris and had to go back in the pouring rain. Hahaha.

I'd move to Provence. It's so pretty.



If you're confused about why we had to dance on Pont d'Avignon:

So there's this french song called Sur le pont d'Avignon (On the Avignon Bridge) and it goes like this:

Chorus:
Sur le pont d’Avignon
On y danse, on y danse
Sur le pont d’Avignon
On y danse tout en rond
(on the Avignon bridge/ we dance there, we dance there/ on the Avignon bridge/ we all dance there in a ring)

1:
Les belles dames font comm’ ça
Et puis encore comm’ ça.

2:
Les beaux messieurs font comm’ ça
Et puis encore comm’ ça.

3:
Les militaires font comm’ ça
Et puis encore comm’ ça

4:
Les musiciens font comm’ ça
Et puis encore comm’ ça.


And it's just all these people dancing on the bridge. Wahoo! It's a folk song, so there might be slight variations in the lyrics, but the idea is the same.

Sitting in Arles:
Photobucket

Les Baux!
Photobucket

Sunday, March 23, 2008

easter

Joyeuse Pâques! (Happy Easter!)

The host-fam had friends over for breakfast, and I'm going to messe (mass) tonight with two of my friends.
This is the church that I go to when I go to mass:
http://www.st-andre-europe.org/
It's right around the corner from my metro stop (Europe, line 3) so it only takes me about 7 minutes to walk.

I hope you all have a fun day!

Thursday, March 20, 2008

visite

It's been a tiring week. Rachel arrived on Saturday with Meggie, one of her friends from high school, so I've spent the entire week either in class or taking them around Paris! It was so much fun to see her again! Unfortunately the weather wasn't as kind this week as it has been for practically the rest of the semester- it was cold and windy for most of the week. I managed to see alot with them though.
-Saturday they arrived at about 7 that morning, but by the time they took the RER into Paris and I met them at Gare du Nord, it was probably a little before 10. I took them back to my appt. because it was too early to check-in to their hotel, and they pretty much crashed on my bed for most of the afternoon. Once they were awake, I took them to the latin quarter to check into their hotel (which I had already found when she told me where they were staying), and then we went out to dinner and I took them around the latin quarter.
-Sunday we saw the Eiffel Tower, Centre Pompidou, the Bastille, and Place des Vosges, and did a lot of walking in between.
-Monday morning I went with them to explore the Champs-Elysees, and then I had to go to class while they met up with another friend of Rachel's, Emma. (Emma is abroad in London for the year and was visiting Paris on break). That evening I met up with the three of them and took them to Spaghetti bar for happy hour, and then we went back to the Eiffel Tower to see how pretty it is at night.
-Tuesday I had class most of the day, and in the evening I hung out with just Rachel, but we didn't really do anything special or touristy.
-Wednesday I had class in the morning, but in the afternoon I took them (Rachel, Meggie, and Emma) to Père Lachaise. After that we went to Jardin de Luxembourg, where we people-watched (one of my favorite Paris activities) and then had to say goodbye to Emma.
-Today I couldn't do anything with them, but in-between my two classes (at about noon) I met up with them at Jardin de Luxembourg to say goodbye. Then they went off to go to the airport.

It went sooo quick! It was too bad I had classes to go to, but that's part of the reason why Rachel decided to come with a friend, so that she wouldn't be alone for large chunks of the day. And I think they managed to see a lot while I was at class.

Next big adventure= a weekend in Provence. Mmmm I hope I come back smelling like Lavender.

Friday, March 7, 2008

england and spain

London!!!



The bus ride: The bus ride was actually really fun! The bus was kind of full, so Jessica and I had to split up, but I sat next to an English girl who's studying abroad in Paris for the year, and was going home for winter break. She was super nice and really fun to talk to. She also used the following words: "dodgy", "rubish", "holiday", "crisps" (instead of chips), and more that I'm not thinking of, but it made me kind of happy hahahhaa. Her accent was adorable. The Chunnel part of the journey actually wasn't very exciting. Basically the bus drove into a train, so it was like sitting in a box for 40 minutes. But then when you finally get out, everyone is driving on the other side of the road.
The bus let us off at Victoria station, where Jess and I promptly found an ATM, got some pounds, and took the Tube to Kensel Green, where our hostel was. We were in a 4 person, all-female room, and the hostel included breakfast, so for only 9 pounds a night it was really nice! I was really pleased with it, at least.

Our first full day included a lot of walking. We started out in Hyde Park because it was just such a gorgeous day. We also went to Buckingham palace to see the Changing of the Guards, by the river to see Big Ben, Westminster Abbey, and the Eye of London, we saw Covent Garden (theater district), London Bridge (hey, it's still up!!), the Globe Theater, St. Paul's Cathedral, and then we went back to Covent Garden and shared a pizza before going to see Lord of the Rings, the Musical. YES we totally did see it.

I actually really liked it. Things that impressed me were: the fact that they even decided to turn LOTR into a 3-hour musical, Shelob (the giant spider) which was a really cool giant puppet, the orcs (omg they were so cool), Galadriel, and Frodo singing the Cat and the Moon song (from the book) in the Prancing Pony with awesome choreography. Also, both Legolas and Gimli got to sing. And the stage was really cool. Disappointments were that they cut out all of Rohan and they cut out Faramir. They obviously had to cut a lot, but I was sad about the lack of Rohan.

The next day, we started the day in Green Park (beautiful day= must walk in parks!), then we went to Sunday morning mass in Westminster Abbey. Which was absolutely gorgeous (both the Abbey and the singing- it was a British boy choir that sang everything. So pretty!). After church we spent some time in the National Gallery to see some art, and then to the Tower of London! My favorite thing in the Tower of London gift shop was a kit to make your own chopping block model, complete with an executioner and victim. They had one all set up, and if you pushed a button you could watch the executioner chop of the head of some poor man over and over again. It was for kids. I was tempted to buy it.
That night we didn't have an awesome musical to see, so we walked around and ended up sitting up on Nelson's Column and talking for a long time, which was really nice.

For our last full day in London, it was once again gorgeous, so once again we started out in a park- Regent's park. Then we went to the British museum. Man those Brits really did steal things from all over hahaha. We saw the Rosetta Stone of course, and also the Room of Enlightenment (one of my favorites because of all the books), the stuff from the Parthenon, some of the egyptian exhibit and some of the roman-britain exhibit. So we barely even made a dent, but we spent so much time there! We ended the day by going to see Harrod's! Ahhh so much fun designer clothing. RACHEL- I saw a black and gold sequened dress that was actually pretty similar to the one I wore to Band Banquet- but for only about a few thousand pounds. HAHA. I am so fashionable.
We also went up to the kids floor (where the rich kids of London get their toys?). One of the guys working there was wearing these light-up wheels on his shoes. I thought they were super neat, so I looked to see how much they were (only 20 pounds!), and he came over to talk to us. And he liked our accents!! Haha. And he likes that we say "cool" instead of "wicked". :-D

The next day we flew to Barcelona. But before we left, I used my remaining pounds to buy tea and Cadbury eggs. I'm convinced that nobody does easter candy better than England.

Off with her head! (Tower of London):
Photobucket

Handy- a reminder that the Brits drive on the opposite side of the road. In case you forgot and look the wrong way.. :
Photobucket

Barcelona!


We didn't have as much time in Barcelona, so we didn't actually do as much as in London. We did walk around quite a bit. And Jessica doesn't speak a word of Spanish, so I got to try to speak a lot.

Our first night we checked into the hostel and then went to find Tapas, and to walk down by the water. The hostel=not as nice as in London. No breakfast, and the blankets were extra. And there were a lot more people in the room. Actually it was exactly what I expected a hostel to be like before I went to London. Haha.

Our only full day in Barcelona was spent at the History of Barcelona museum (which was really interesting. You got to see all the roman ruins which were cool.) Then we went to find the beach, and took a nap there. :-D We mostly spent the day walking around and exploring though. And we had more tapas for dinner. (squid, spanish tortilla, eggplant, olives, and tomato bread.) Oh, and we checked out the Sangrada Familia huge cathedral. Oh, and for breakfast the last morning, we went to a bakery, and Jess accidentally said "oui", so the lady at the counter totally thought we were French, and asked if we wanted something to drink in french. Haha.

Palm trees=joy:
Photobucket

Chocolate display of joy (similar displays found in several Barcelona display windows):
Photobucket